Sunday, April 6, 2008


1986 (ROIR)


"Idiocy of a ridiculous, catchy, and hilarious kind -- the best sort one can ask for. Playing up their punk inspirations as much as they did their Mad Magazine upbringings and varying musical touchstones of youth, it's the Dickies in the rawest form around, an hour-long laugh riot that rocks. Aside from an initial four song demo session from late 1977, with extremely rough rips through such beloved first album hits as "Hideous" and "You Drive Me Ape (You Big Gorilla)," We Aren't the World captures the band onstage here, there, and everywhere. Huge gigs in the U.K. during their late-'70s pop heyday and club romps and riffs in CBGB's and elsewhere are culled, with the only track duplication being a 1982 take on "You Drive Me Ape." Anyone even slightly in love with the Dickies' studio work will kill for this, but the real joy is that total neophytes to the group will probably find this as equally a perfect introduction as Great Dictations.

While the recording quality varies, to put it mildly, hearing Phillips' often-hilarious between-song comments and introductions and Lee's full-on, balls-out rock heroics in an unrestrained live setting, not to mention rapturous audience cheers and eggings on is more than enough to make up for it. At no point do the band sound like they couldn't eat anyone else for breakfast, however wide the smiles.

Highlights are legion: introducing their hyperspeed cover of "The Sounds of Silence" -- "Paul Simon taught us this next tune...over a highly homosexually erotic game...of Mousetrap!" During a 1985 show, at the height of Live Aid mania -- "Absolutely none of tonight's profits are going to Ethiopia!" Top it off with an abusive (and tongue-in-cheek) essay from Frontier Records boss and former Dickies fan club president Lisa Fancher, and all is well in Dickiedom." ~ Ned Raggett, All Music Guide

1 Hideous
2 I'm O.K., You're O.K.
3 You Drive Me Ape (You Big Gorilla)
4 Walk Like An Egg
5 Paranoid
6 Give It Back
7 Sounds of Silence
8 Got It At The Store
9 Eve of Destruction
10 Rondo in a Major (Midget's Revenge)
11 Infidel Zombie
12 Curb Job
13 Gigantor
14 Nights in White Satin
15 You Drive Me Ape (Version 2)
16 Pretty Please
17 Poodle Party
18 She's a Hunchback
19 She
20 (I'm Stuck in a Pagoda With) Tricia Toyota
21 Manny, Moe and Jack
22 Fan Mail
23 If Stewart Could Talk
24 Bowling with Bedrock Barney
25 Banana Splits

Includes J-card art and liner notes

Download (192 kbs, 87 Mb)


RYP said...

thanks for the Dickies!

Have some warm rockin' and peaceful "days", Herr Dgrador!

Anonymous said...

I saw them at least 6 or 7 times over the years (including the first line-up...R.I.P. Chuck Wagon) and they never put on a dull show. Are they still playing? Havn't hear from them in a while.


Nazz Nomad said...

mas cool

i think i was at the cb's show where some of this is from.

Anthony said...

Thanks for this! I had the cassette in college, and nearly wore it out listening to the hyperactive playing and the hilarious banter. Brilliant!

tim7423 said...

Oh my fucking god. I also had this in the late 80's in college. I wore mine out 3 times and ended up with all 3 colors of cassettes. I'm so glad I found this.

ogra megnon said...

Ha ha, awesome. Been looking for this again as the studio tracks aren't quite the same. This album is epic, and the Paul Simon bit is hilarious.